Kids & Sweets

May 4, 2009 at 11:12 pm 2 comments


I have a lot to say about kids and sweets, especially the little ones, but I’ll keep it short… and sweet!  Basically keep your child away from the sugar as long as you can!    It is difficult to stay away from sweet treats especially when grandma & grandpa are at the ready with ice cream and cake, however, if your child can’t ask for it; don’t give it to her!

I am not naive; I know that awhen they get older kids will get their hands on sugar when they can, but don’t make it a staple.  Treats should be treated as such; a treat.  When it is time for dessert, try dessert made from unrefined sugars.   A great resource for desserts is the eagerly anticipated ‘Sweet Freedom’ by Ricki Heller.  Her recipes are for desserts made without wheat, eggs, dairy and refined sugar.  You can make delicious treats that everyone can enjoy.  Right now she is giving away copies of her book.  For more information and to be entered into a draw for a copy of the book visit:

http://www.dietdessertndogs.com/2009/05/01/its-time-for-sweet-freedom-and-worldwide-giveaway/

Entry filed under: 1 Year, Treats.

Big Bad Wheat Finger Food!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elle  |  May 6, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    I was recently introduced to your blog. I’m so glad I found it.
    I am a new mom to identical twin girls. I have started my own blog and mentioned your blog in this post-http://www.mamaloves.ca/2009/05/solid-foods/#more-144. Thank you for all the great advice.

    Reply
    • 2. lkmnut  |  May 7, 2009 at 10:17 pm

      Thanks so much! I love your blog. I think I could learn a few things from you! I look forward to exploring your site further as well!

      Laurie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join the Food Revolution!

The Food Revolution

Become a Fan on Facebook!

LkM Nutrition on Facebook

Get updates on blog postings, upcoming events and what else might be going on in the world of kids nutrition...


