Let Baby Choose

July 21, 2009 at 7:07 pm 3 comments


I have been getting a few questions and e-mails lately on the article recently published in the Toronto Star ‘Does Baby Know Best?’.   Presenting whole food to your baby is not a new concept.  It is called Baby Led Weaning and has been led by the expert in this field Gill Rapley.

I have written my thoughts on Baby-Led Weaning before (Click here!).  I think Baby Led Weaning is a feasible way of feeding your baby.  However I do still believe that certain foods are allergenic and should be introduced at the right time and that food introduction protocols should be followed.  Click here for the broad principles I follow in regards to introducing food.  I do have an amazing one-pager that lists what foods to introduce when.  If you are interested in getting a copy, please send an e-mail to laurie@lkmnutrition.ca

Use the Drop-Down category links at the side to read past posts on allergies and introducing food.

When people ask me about Baby Led Weaning I always say ‘Do what makes you comfortable’.  As a mother there are lots of people telling you when and how to do what; choose what feels right for you and your baby.  Mother always knows best!!!

Entry filed under: Allergies, Baby Led Weaning, Dairy, Good Grains, Herbs & Spices, Introducing Food, Nuts and Seeds, Protein, Vegetables.

This Mom Likes: Baby Rice Cakes Baby-Mama Lunch: Quinoa Cakes

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cindy  |  July 24, 2009 at 7:04 am

    Hi there,
    I’m the baby’s mom that is profiled in the article in The Star! I found your blog through the blogher blog listings. Can I say blog again, haha.

    You said it best, do what feels right to you. And for us, this was the way, and so far so good. I’m also working on a blog for our adventures in Baby Led Solids.

    Back to reading your entries… enjoy the time at the conference if that’s where you are!

    Cindy

    Reply
    • 2. lkmnut  |  July 24, 2009 at 1:03 pm

      Thanks for the positive comments Cindy! Enjoy baby feeding! Laurie

      Reply
  • 3. worldofamummy  |  August 4, 2009 at 5:44 am

    I loved baby led weaning – I did it with my first when it was still quite controversial (Annabel Karmel publically said it was dangerous!), I love the way that it is now promoted so widely in the UK. Our local health visitors and a lot of midwives now actively promote it to mums in our area. I think it works as it allows you to go at the pace thats right for you and your baby, I offered Ben all types of food but interestingly he shunned some until he was good and ready (like meat) – its almost as if he instinctively knew his tummy couldn’t cope with it.

    Good luck to everyone starting this exciting adventure (I can’t wait for Ciaran to be old enough to start!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join the Food Revolution!

The Food Revolution

Become a Fan on Facebook!

LkM Nutrition on Facebook

Get updates on blog postings, upcoming events and what else might be going on in the world of kids nutrition...


