This Mom Likes: Washing Diapers!

September 20, 2009 at 7:42 am Leave a comment


I recently asked for some thoughts from Moms on what they like so that we can share info as moms and Anita came to me with her info on cloth diapers.

Anita wrote a great post on using cloth diapers with her little girl Rowan.  Read all about it here!

I am also a cloth diaper user and I love them!  For someone who hates doing laundry, I took to cloth diapering quite quickly.  It helped to feel like I was helping the environment somehow and the money we saved was incredible!  We do use disposables occasionally, but that’s okay, some circumstances warrant it!  I am also very lucky that my daycare provider is willing to use cloth as well.  I made up some nylon bags for her to put the diapers in so I can just dump them and the bag into the washer.  Here are some of my tips!

  • If you are concerned that cloth diapers might be too much with a newborn, consider a service.  We used a diaper service for 3 months.  It was nice to have one less thing to worry about.  At the 3-month mark I was ready to do the laundry, so I cancelled the service and began using my own diapers.
  • Once your baby is on solids, you can use a paper liner.  This catches the poop and can easily be flushed.  If you baby pees, you don’t need to remove it, it will just go through the wash.
  • I do a 2 wash system.  First I run the diapers through with hot water and vinegar.  When that cycle is done I add extra laundry (baby clothes, our clothes, whatever) and run it through a normal cycle with laundry soap.  This works well and I don’t feel like I am wasting washes.
Entry filed under: Good Buy, Natural Parenting, What Moms Like. Tags: .

Laurie’s Peachy Morning Muffins! Finally! A Teething Biscuit!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join the Food Revolution!

The Food Revolution

Become a Fan on Facebook!

LkM Nutrition on Facebook

Get updates on blog postings, upcoming events and what else might be going on in the world of kids nutrition...


