Baby Snack Time!

February 4, 2010 at 8:46 am Leave a comment


I must admit, I have been a little remiss of late posting ideas for baby food.  Now that my son is almost two (!), I have moved on to different meal ideas.  It doesn’t mean that I don’t have ideas for the babes though.  Don’t forget to look at the categories at the side for ideas and send me a note/comment if you have any baby food questions or ideas!

A great snack from 8 months on!

Brown Rice Balls are a great snack for babies, toddlers, kids and adults.

Easy to make, easy to eat, once your little one can grab food with his or her fingers, these are a go!

For older kids I serve these with tomato sauce for dipping.

The trick to making these is really based on the kind of rice you buy.  The only rice I have found that works for these is: Lundberg’s Brown Sweet Rice. This rice cooks up sweet and sticky.  Cook up the rice according to directions and with wet hands roll them into little balls.

No other rice will do!

Serve as is or with a dipping sauce of your choice!  This rice is also great if you are into making your own sushi.  Another thought I have had, but haven’t tried, is to put a little green pea in the middle of the rice ball.  Yum!

Blog Fave:  This week I have to tell you about www.weelicious.com.  I have been following Catherine’s blog since I have been making & blogging about my own baby food.   She has some great ideas, so check it out!

Entry filed under: 8 months, Brown Rice, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Finger Food, Good Grains, wheat-free. Tags: , .

Planning Breakfast and Lunch Fatty Food! Good or Bad for your heart?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join the Food Revolution!

The Food Revolution

Become a Fan on Facebook!

LkM Nutrition on Facebook

Get updates on blog postings, upcoming events and what else might be going on in the world of kids nutrition...


