What the heck is…

July 15, 2010 at 8:30 am 4 comments


Kohlrabi?

I saw some kohlrabi at the Sorauren Farmer’s Market the other Monday.  I have often wondered how to eat this mysterious vegetable, so that day I decided to give it a try.  When I looked online for recipes, the mentions of kohlrabi fell into 2 camps.  There was the ‘I hate Kohlrabi’ camp and the ‘make it into a coleslaw’ camp.  I decided to forge my own path and did what I usually do with vegetables: peel it, cut it into discs, toss it in salt, pepper, my mediterranean seasoning, olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and grill it on the Barbeque.

It was a hit!  My 2-year old almost ate all of it!  I honestly couldn’t believe it.  He was taking it off of my plate, the serving dish and his own plate.  It grilled up nicely, the vinegar caramelized, giving it a nice flavour, and it maintained a good crunch.  I did try it raw and I can see how it would taste good raw in a coleslaw.  I think I will pick some up next week and try that!

The Facts about Kohlrabi

Kohlrabi is a member of the cabbage family, it has been described as having a taste that is sweeter, juicier and crisper than a turnip.  A similar taste could be a water chestnuts or a  mild radish.  The leaves can be eaten and have similar nutritional benefits to kale.

It is a kidney and blood cleanser.  It helps stabilize blood sugar and has anticancer and antioxidant properties.  Like all cabbages though, raw kohlrabi should be avoided by people with thyroid problems as they contain goitrogens, which can interfere with thyroid function.  The leaves should also not be consumed by people with  oxalate-containing kidney stones as they contain high amounts of oxalates.

Grilled Kohlrabi

  • 2 -3 kohlrabi (bulbs? roots?)
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 tsp Mediterranean Seasoning
  • salt &  pepper

Peel the kohlrabi with a knife and cut it into discs approximately 1 – 2 cm wide.  Place in a bowl and toss it with olive oil, seasoning, salt and pepper.  Place on a hot barbeque grill.  Baste occasionally with the remainder of the olive oil & vinegar.  After 3 – 4 minutes, turn over the kohlrabi with tongs and grill the other side, continue to baste.  Grill until it turns a little brown.  Enjoy alone or with other vegetables!

Now that I have tried kohlrabi, I would love to know if you have any recipes on how to cook it.  Send it my way!

Entry filed under: 10 months, Vegetables, Vegetarian or Veganism. Tags: , , .

Taking Care of Mom Taking a break!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachel  |  July 15, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Hey Laurie –

    This veg was a favourite of my mom’s.
    We eat it raw with a little salt. Yum! It’s got a zing that most raw veggies lack.
    I have never heard of grilling it – but that’s what I’ll be doing with it soon – sounds good!

    Reply
    • 2. lkmnut  |  July 17, 2010 at 7:58 am

      I liked it raw too! I was disappointed to see that they didn’t have any more at my farmer’s market this week. I will have to keep my eye open for it again!

      Reply
  • 3. twowomenandababy  |  July 31, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I grew up eating kohlrabi – it was never my fave, but it was fine. Kind of a veggie non-event, really. My mom would typically peel it and boil/steam it. It looked like boiled potatoes, but tasted kind of like cauliflower. We’d probably put a little butter on it.

    I realize this isn’t theeee most health-conscious way to prepare it, but it is one way, nonetheless :o)

    One thing about it that irked me was that if even a tiny bit of the outside surface was left on, it had a terrible texture while chewing. Kind of like gnawing on a small piece of burlap. Ugh!

    Reply
  • 4. Elaine  |  September 13, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    I love kohlrabi! I have never heard of grilled but I’m sure it must be good. We’ve always eaten it the “traditional” way: peeled, sliced into discs, boiled/steamed then with butter and parsley.

    That’s how I like it. But I’ll be sure to give your recipe a try.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join the Food Revolution!

The Food Revolution

Become a Fan on Facebook!

LkM Nutrition on Facebook

Get updates on blog postings, upcoming events and what else might be going on in the world of kids nutrition...


