The most annoying mother at daycare

February 14, 2011 at 8:15 am Leave a comment


 

Happy Valentine's Day!

Happy Valentine's Day!

I think that for Valentine’s this year I will get the ‘most annoying mother at daycare’ award.  You know who it is…  That mother who brings in the beautifully decorated homemade cupcakes or cookies, secretly we all envy her and wonder ‘How does she do it?’ and ‘Why’?  Why is the easy question to answer.  Because it is fun.  If you truly enjoy cooking, that kind of stuff can be fun, but the how is harder to answer.  It’s probably a later evening project.

 

You may not believe it, but when there is a party at our daycare, I do not make healthy and fancy cookies or cupcakes.  I would if I could, but I just don’t want to.  For one thing, I don’t have the time or energy.  Also, I feel that there are way too many cookies and juice and candy at these parties, and although I do enjoy baking, I don’t want to add.  So I always buy a fruit tray.  One of the pre-cut trays from the grocery store, which I have to cut smaller because adults can barely choke down the huge pineapple pieces, let alone pre-schoolers!   I would do a veggie tray, but let’s be honest, all of that food will be wasted.  Vegetables rarely win against cupcakes at a party – even at adult parties!

However, this time I made the tray myself.  We don’t have a car, and it was easier for me to go to the closest fruit stand than trek over to the grocery store.  So when I was laying out the fruit on the tray, I decided to have my own fun and lay them out in a heart shape.  It is Valentine’s after all!  So I think for this party I may get the ‘annoying mother at daycare’ designation!  At least I had fun!

Happy Valentine’s everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Detox: Sugar Time After school treat

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Join the Food Revolution!

The Food Revolution

Become a Fan on Facebook!

LkM Nutrition on Facebook

Get updates on blog postings, upcoming events and what else might be going on in the world of kids nutrition...


